Ray's Homesteading Ideas

A Gathering of Homesteading & Prepping Ideas

Snow on the Modern Newbie Homestead January 22, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — rbansey @ 4:03 pm

We had 12 inches of snow in my neck of the woods last Thursday. The roads were bad, the power went out, and everything grew quiet and peaceful.

snow day

I had to be sure the wood stove stayed well stoked through the night, but alas, our water pipes still wound up freezing at one point. Luckily, I save my old water jugs and keep water in them for flushing toilets and such for occasions like this.  I also had to get the snow shovel out and dig my car out in order to make it into work on Saturday. On the rest of the driveway and sidewalk I shoveled off the majority of the snow before getting out my ice melt spreader to apply salt.

I was so glad to have some food that I had canned during the fall available to eat. We got out the cast iron dutch oven and made some vegetable soup using mixed vegetables, beef tips, and some tomato stew that I had canned. It was the perfect meal for a cold winter day. I’m so grateful that I was able to have a garden last summer and enough food for us to put up.

We still don’t have any animals on our land. So there wasn’t anyone other than us and the cat to feed and keep warm. Our homestead is still new, but next year I’m hoping to have some chickens, so I will report back on how that goes.

Hope everyone stayed safe and warm during this bad weather.

 

Leave a Reply

